A Quick Re-cap!

quick-recap

Hey pawsome peeps! Yesterday was the last day of the Autumn term at school so that means today is officially the first day of the Winter Holiday! The school will be closed for two weeks and will be back open for the Spring term on Tuesday 5th January 2016. Phew, thank God! That means that I have time to celebrate Little Miss Diva’s 2nd birthday on the 3rd of January!

tumblr_n5drx0HL2X1qfismso1_500.gif

I know that I haven’t kept you updated about school for a while now. Well, to be honest, as I can recall, I haven’t posted anything about school since the 8th of December which was two weeks ago! Sorry for that because my life has been hectic trying to keep up with my schedule. So, now, let me give you a quick re-cap about what’s been happening for the last two weeks!

Happy, Hectic Header

What was so pawsome about the 8th of December? Our very own Winter Event!! The event was held at my school, where there was plenty of space for millions of stalls and fun activities. Because the event was held on a school day, we had to have half a day at school and lots of children were looking forward to either go back home or come back to school for the Winter Event in the afternoon. And of course, no matter where they were, they would still be having fun. Now let me tell you a bit more about it…

Childrens-Christmas-Party-Featured-item

When it was the end of school, I went back home with Mr Dad to get changed and gather everything. Mrs Mom also said that we should take Little Miss Diva with us. At that point, I just froze and gawped! How am I supposed to take care of Little Miss Diva when she can’t even switch off her hyper mode for at least one whole minute? But I guessed that if I keep holding her hand tightly and make sure that she doesn’t let go then it will be fine.

kfwtXXL.gif

So, me, Mr Dad and Little Miss Diva collected what we would need to take to the Winter Event and set off. Unfortunately, Baby A couldn’t come with us because it was raining. At least it wasn’t raining when we reached school!

2779253606_d5141a165b.jpg

When we arrived at our destination, the school looked pretty full to me. But, when me, Mr Dad and Little Miss Diva entered the building, it looked as if the whole school had attended the Winter Event! There was children as far as the eye could see. A big group of people were crowding around the face painting table, there was a long, ever-lasting line that looked like it would never end in front of the bouncy castle and children pushing and shoving to make sure that they could ride the donkeys.

tumblr_mjgfwuTSAe1rdhao3o1_500.gif

As always, every teacher had something to do. Can you guess what Miss Javed and Miss Hussain were doing? They had to look after the donkeys! 😀 I have to say though, they are real donkey friends! The donkeys would listen to what they both said and obey them. Another teacher called Mrs O’Conner, who is the teaching assistant in my Maths class, was in charge of face painting. She herself said that she was no good at face painting. So, she would just paint a red bauble on everyone’s cheeks! But, the next day, it turned out that Mrs O’Conner was really good at face painting. She could paint snowmen, snowflakes, trees and angels too!

il_fullxfull.254510177.jpg

I asked Mrs O’Conner if she could paint a tree for me and away she went, with her tiny, little paintbrush wiping my skin. There was a splash of green first, then brown, black, red and blue. The finishing product looked really nice and authentic. Little Miss Diva also wanted her face to be painted so we asked another teacher who was at the face painting table to paint some snowflakes on her cheek. That teacher was Miss Mclean, my Maths teacher! The snowflakes looked good too! Little Miss Diva sat quietly through the painting process which is highly unusual for her. But, as soon as the painting was finished, the first thing that she did was rub the snowflakes off with her hands! Ugh, I knew it! Every time she does something that she doesn’t normally do, like BEHAVE, there will be something mischievous that she does after that! So, what a waste!!!

mr_men_3

Other things at the Winter Event also included a ton of candy floss, heaps of popcorn, the bounciest bouncy castle, fantastic candy canes, hundreds of mini games, food stalls for miles and the piece de resistance, A FIREWORK SHOW!!!!! Everybody who attended the amazing event had a great time and enjoyed themselves, especially me! Well done SHP for organising the great event!

tumblr_nhh3tl4r4I1u3ihpao1_500.gif

The next thing that happened at school was Year 4’s curriculum celebration which was on the 15th of December! It involved all three Year 4 classes which are Hazel, Aspen and Willow. If any of you don’t know, a curriculum celebration is a certain day which happens every half term when parents can come to school and find out what their child has been learning about and sometimes, they might be in for a treat! Mr Dad is very supportive and he never misses any important event including this curriculum celebration. This half term, we were learning about the Aztecs and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory! This time, we had a song, some children reading out some parts of a play, a display of artwork that we did and some other things too. On that day, me and Shreya were asked to bring our guitars in for the song that we would be singing! All of the parents and children enjoyed the curriculum celebration this term.

maxresdefault.jpg

Then, on Wednesday 16th December, my class made Aztec masks! Yep, incredible Aztec masks!!! We made these masks as part of our learning about Aztecs and chocolate this term. Making the masks were great fun. Some of the materials that we used to make our masks were:

  1. Black plastic masks
  2. Gloopy PVA glue
  3. Shiny gold pen/paint
  4. Dazzling silver pen/paint
  5. Metallic pink paint
  6. Metallic blue paint
  7. Metallic green paint
  8. Soft, bouncy foam
  9. Small coloured sticks
  10. Bendy pipe cleaners
  11. Fluffy feathers
  12. Glistening sequins
  13. Wiry mesh

My mask had gold, blue and pink paint with sequins, foam and feathers. There was also a curly pipe cleaner that went around its head. To me, it looked like a halo! The gold paint was really shiny and nearly blinded me! Nearly every mask in the class looked astounding. I hope that we get to do something like that again so that we could all show our artsy side!

Arts_SubCat_Header

Next on the list is the special event that I’ve been looking forward to. It is…the Yes Smethwick Christmas Disco!!! Remember those Cluster Council meetings that I went to with Nimah at Victoria Park Primary Academy? We were busy organising the event and finally, it was the time to break the news. To tell everyone in Year 5 about the special event, me and Nimah prepared a speech and went into the two classes in Year 5 to tell them about it. However, I was glad to find out that I didn’t have to do any more work at the disco! On the day that the disco was held, some teachers started to give out the VIP Tickets to the first 20 people that brought their consent form in. Luckily, I was one of those 20 (more like 14) people that received a ticket. The ticket was as big as an A5 piece of paper! The disco was at Hadley Stadium and started at 4:00pm until 5:30pm. There was a DJ, free refreshments, balloons all around the place, bright, dazzling lights, party poppers and a face painting table! Everybody that attended the event had a great time! All was well and the disco was a success! I am really grateful for the opportunity to experience what it is like to organise an event and I am very proud to be part of the team. I hope everyone enjoyed working together to make this event a hit! If we ever organise an event like that again, I hope that it will be a triumph!

vip.jpg

Then, on Thursday, we had a fun day! It was a non-uniform day for my class only because we won the attendance competition! I told ya that our Miss Javed and Miss Hussain are AMAZING!!! They are so amazing that Hazel class didn’t miss a day of school for one whole week and we managed to beat the whole school in the competition! On that day, we had no work to do so instead, we went on the laptops and played on a Maths game called Manga High! We also watched the movie Cinderella, drank milkshakes and Miss Hussain even baked some cakes for us!!! They were super duper yummy and pawsome! I think that she is the BEST baker in the WORLD!!!!! Once again, well done Hazel for winning! A pat on the back for you!

images

Last but not least is the last day of school! WOOHOO!! It was also Wear A Christmas Jumper To School Day on the same day so there were lots of festive clothes being worn by nearly everyone. Because it was the last day of school, my class had a party, we had Just Dance music on, we opened our presents from the Secret Santa game that Miss Javed organised and we did some festive activities to keep us merry. My Secret Santa was Uwais and thanks to him, I received a snap band watch which I’ve dreamt of! Thank you Uwais. I really appreciate it and I love the watch! There was also a performance that we did in the morning and once again, I had to bring my guitar in! The song that we were singing was called Santa Claus Is Coming To Town by Mariah Carey. Unfortunately, the music was not working and we had to sing without the music but our singing sounded great! At homee time, Miss Javed gave out some cards and candy canes to us and we all bade her goodbye.

giphy.gif

Happy holidays everyone! Make sure you use your two weeks wisely and don’t forget to make it fruitful! To those who celebrate Christmas, have fun with your loved ones! Till next time, Auf Wiedersehen!

 

do-good-be-nice-have-fun-logo

p/s: Hey Mrs Mom, are you ready to kick off our next special project? 😉

61KG3UmOIeL.jpg

*Media Source: Google Images*

Leave a Reply

